Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi there,
My name is Vicki and I'm a 21 year-old journalism student from England researching an article on Genetic Sexual Attraction, as part of a series on family relationships I will be submitting for assessment in May. It is unlikely to be published.
GSA is experienced by a lot of families when they are reunited after adoption. Many psychologists believe that the reason we are not attracted to members of our family is because whilst growing up together (especially with siblings) any sexual attraction is knocked out of us very quickly.
However, most adoption agencies realise that when families are separated at birth this natural process does not take place, resulting in very confused feelings and worries that you are 'abnormal' for feeling this way, when in fact, it is very normal indeed.
I wondered if anyone who may have had experiences like GSA upon reunion with their children, or parents, would contact me through email. I would guarantee anonymity, of course. At the moment I have spoken to a lot of experts, but I think it is important for people who have actually experienced this phenomenon to give their point of view.
Thank you for your time, I look forward to hearing from you.
A few years ago, I would have thought anyone addressing this topic was a sicko. Now I know that it is real--and powerful.
I have experienced mild GSA with my birth father, and I think it's mutual. Neither of us has acted on it. I think it's because we both value our friendship too much to mess it up. Of course, this is all speculation, because I would sooner die than bring it up, and he's not the type to discuss that sort of thing, either.