Advertisements
Advertisements
This quote is apparently attributable to Dr. Karyn Purvis, Director of Texas Christian University's Institute of Child Development:
"Adoptive parents become the biological parents through connection. We change their biology."
responding to OP
I can't change DD's biology. That would be absurd to state
At the risk of offending everyone here, the whole nature nurture debate is simple to me. it mirrors what I do for a living
In computer automation testing, there are 2 dimensions.. the state of the system and the stimulus to the system. When you put them together you get results that reflect part of the surface
I see my adoption that way. DD has a state - combination of her DNA and her life before me. I can absolutely effect a ton of her life - positive reinforcement, healthy eating, role modelling
But I can't alter her original state
How her body reacts to a low fat diet will be different than how MY body reacts to a low fat diet.
I can give her every math tutor in the world, but she will never be minoring in math at college (like i did)
On the flip side, just because i suck at sports doesn't mean she will lose her upper body strength and lose her ability to do gymnastics, just because she lives with me.
I absolutely believe we are committed to do the best we can to ensure J has a great, and positive life. But it would be naive for me to ignore her genetics and the role they play
Advertisements
I need to clarify: I watched the whole video TRAILER.
I'm guessing the AP who blogged the quote actually paid for and watched the 2-set DVD.
Since a similar quote was used in the video, I'm guessing that either Dr. Purvis or someone else in the video did actually use the exact words that I originally posted.
I'm still waiting to hear back. I would like to know if it was actually said in the video. Since I'm not going to buy it, I have to wait to hear back from Dr. Purvis.