Advertisements
Advertisements
I am new to message boards. I have gained a lot of great information from reading your posts. I was hoping someone could help me find transracial adoptive support/play groups in my area. We are in the Southeast Michigan area and are having problems finding support groups in our area. Most groups seem to be on the west side of the state. My questions are:
Does anyone know of a Southeastern Michigan transracial adoptive support/play group?
Does anyone have suggestions as to how to find said groups?
Thanks so much for any help that you can provide.
Hello!
We also are from SE MI and are about 3 weeks away from adopting a biracial baby. If you have heard of any groups, please post something regarding it.
At the very least, we could possibly set up our own forum for discussions, right?
Advertisements
Congrats!!!!
:cheer:
Have you done any reading? We have In Their Own Voices which I am 100 pages into and just got I'm Chocolate, You're Vanilla today. Have you read either of these? Any others you could recommend?
Did you go to any biracial seminars or any special research? I would be very interested in chatting with you sometime, if you'd like.
Congratulations!
I have not been able to locate any support groups in our area. You are onto something about starting our own support group.
I would recommend Black Baby, White Hands by Dr. Jaiya Johns. I had the opportunity to hear him speak. He's very inspiring. The book is about his childhood growing up as the first black baby adopted by a white family in New Mexico (I think, or was it Arizona...I read it a while ago. :confused: ) Anyway, he's devoted his life to studying adoption and transracial adoption.
I would love to chat with all of you, too.
Since my son is a toddler, I've been looking for good transracial adoption books for kids. I've come across a few. If you're interested, I can pm a list.
Thank you!