Advertisements
Advertisements
A Late Discovery Adoptee myself, I am looking for other folks who found out later in life, say past the age of 18, that they were adopted. Turns out, LDAs are an oft-overlooked subset of the adoption world and I would like to change that. I'm a graduate student at USC working on my thesis/book that tells my story, the stories of other LDAs and the side effects of a lifetime of deception.
I'm not sure if I am the type of subject you are researching or not. I found out the day after my Dad passed away that he was not my birth father. I was 47 years old Needless to say, I was quite shocked. Both of my parents are deceased now and I have been trying to locate my birth father without any luck. This has been a very stressful time in dealing with this information. It has not changed my opinion of my parents, my Dad will always be my Dad and my mom did what she thought was right at the time. I was never treated any different than my siblings. But it is strange knowing that you have another person out there that is responsible for you being here. Does he ever wonder about me or even care? I know that he knows about me. Anyway, just rambling on. Good luck with your thesis.
Advertisements
In the supermarket yesterday, during the course of a conversation between the check-out woman and a male customer, the man was asked if he had any children. He right away said he thinks he might have one 'out there'. Something about hearing about a girlfriend (in the past) being pregnant and he looked for her but she was shuffled away by her parents somewhere, they moved, and he hasn't been able to find her. But this just goes to show that this man is THINKING of this (possible) child... of his... that he has tried to find out about, but without any success. There's so much we don't know about men and how they feel/think about children lost to and raised by others, but I'm sure for many there is a lot they think and feel about it.
merrill