Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi. So I came to this forum seeking advice from people experienced in this area because I'm not the "normal" case. I am a 25 year single male that is looking to adopt in California. I have dated in the past and I am still open to dating but I have always dreamed of adopting a child when I was old and stable enough to do so. I have traveled the world already and lived my young life, so I am ready for the next phase in my life. I am wanting to adopt a younger child from social services/ the foster system(Doesn't need to be an infant, could be up to/around 2 years old). I make a good living and am an educated young man. I graduated from a prestigious university with my Bachelor's of Science in Biomedical Engineering. My questions are as follows...
1. As a 25 year old male, will I be put at the bottom of the list to adopt and will they frown upon adopting a girl instead of a boy? I am not set on either male or female as I just want a healthy child. By healthy, I basically mean happy- I don't care about gender, race, orientation or anything else for that matter. I am actually open to adopting a special needs child as well. My company offers amazing medical benefits, but being that I would be a single working parent, depending on the special need, I am not sure I could give the full time care some advanced "disabilities" may require. I have actually spoken with my managers to even consider working from home should the case present itself but that is besides the point.