Advertisements
Advertisements
Would you still be able to do a private adoption in Cambodia and then do the 2 year wait to get an immediate relative visa?
I am doing that right now with a Korean boy whom I adopted privately, without an agency (which was the only way he and many other children can get adopted in Korea.)
So is Cambodia closed off to Americans for all adoptions, or just through adoption agencies where you can't wait abroad for 2 years?
Hi. I just wanted to say thank you for giving me hope. I am a single male and am looking to adopt. I have trawled through the different internet sites for some guidance with little or no luck. Reading your posts has given me a glimmer of hope. The funny thing is I have just finished a two year stint in Korea-wish I knew you then. I am now in China but as a teacher I can relocate virtually anywhere in the world. I have been looking at various agencies and as you say they don't offer a lot of hope to single men. It would appear private adoption will be the way to go for me. I just now have to relocate to a country that will allow it. Maybe I will return to Korea. Again thank you and hopefully we can chat through msn or skype in the future. Cheers Paul
My e-mail address here is: singlemaleadoption@hotmail.com Corny I know but it seemed appropriate.
Advertisements
Since posting this, I have done a lot of research on my own and found that yes, I can adopt from Cambodia and then live with my child outside of America for 2 years to get a visa. It is only adoption through adoption agencies that has been stopped, not private adoptions. Here is some of the information I gathered from talking to the embassy, lawyers and adoption agencies still working in Cambodia: