Advertisements
Advertisements
Do any of your kids have a really high tolerance of pain? Abby doesn't cry. She can fall and skin her knees on the pavement or bump her head it doesn't matter and she usually doesn't cry.
Today, she was playing and had opened the door and it pulled her toe nail back halfway back and it was bleeding. The only way I knew it was when I saw her toe bleeding. I am talking about way in the quick and her toe nail is ripped up the middle. She never cried, but it made my stomach turn inside out. It looks so painful?.
I was wondering if any of your kids are like this? And why?
I don't want her to cry about everything, but if something hurts I wish she would let me know.
Beth
I agree with you that this seems a bit off. Especially the toe nail incident. I'm not a professional but I would recommend talking to one. There is something called Sensory Disorder that comes to mind. You could google it to find out more.
Good luck
Shelly
Advertisements
I have heard of this from a family that adopted a Chinese toddler. They noticed that she didn't cry much, but they really got concerned when she got her finger pinched in a door and didn't make a peep - just stood there looking and hoping someone would get her finger out. Their theory was that in the orphanage where she had lived, crying didn't get the children any attention, so they learned not to cry. Their daughter had to basically learn to cry when she was sad or in pain. She did learn it and they are "happy" to report that she cries plenty now!
Good luck!
My Gia will fall and hurt herself and only cry for a couple of seconds and I will think it is no big deal. But then a huge knot will form or the blood will start gushing and she is no longer crying and I see that it is a little more serious than she lets on. I actually brought this up to our pediatrician who said that she probably has a high tolerance for pain(I do, too). She said that she would only be worried if Gia didn't cry at all.