Advertisements
Advertisements
A good friend of mine got out of PGN on March 16 and is doing the wait for pink. :) She was wondering if anyone could give a CLEAR breakdown of the steps in the order that they happen from OUT to PICKUP. I'm no expert there so thought I would come to the place that has many!!! :) Also she asked a question that I had never even thought of, Are our children citizens of both Guatemala and the US??
Thanks for any help!!!
Have a wonderful Easter everyone!!!:flowergift:
I asked this at the embassy. They told me that yes, they are dual citizens, although the US government does not recognize their Guatemalan citizenship. The woman suggested we keep his Guat passport current as proof of his Guat citizenship and suggested we contact the Guat consulate in NYC for assistance.
Advertisements
I most definitely want to maintain her duel citizenship given the way the current government is totally messing up our country. The one question I researched is that I intend to change her name here in the United States. If I want to get her a Guatemalan passport with her new name on it, I need to 1) get a new birth certificate with her new name on it from Guatemala 2) physically go to the consulate and present the new birth certificate (for me, Chicago). My attorney said to not worry about it, that no one was going to care that she had one name in one country and another one in another as long as I kept up her Guatemalan passport. I haven't yet decided whether or not I am going to pursue this. I will maintain her Guatemalan passport for sure but have not decided about the name change.
Guatemala is involved with a conflict (war) when my son is of age and I maintain his citizenship there? Would he be called to serve? It is scary enought to have him on the list for one country, much less, two!
i thought you had to surrender the Guatemalan passport in order to get a US one, i'm i totally wrong?