Advertisements
Advertisements
Trying to get some discussion started here. How involved are you as a Dad? Is your wife a SAHM and you just see the kids off to bed? Do you share child raising responsibilities equally? Are you a Stay At Home Dad (SAHD). Wive's feel free to chime in and let us know how involved your husband is.
I'll start. My wife is a ICU nurse and I'm a paramedic supervisor, so we both have non-traditional work schedules. We both work nights shifts that are 12-16 hours long. I work the first half of the week (Sunday, Monday, Tuesday) and my wife works the second half of the week. I the days that my wife works, I have total care of our DD. I feel that it's developed a special bond between my DD and myself. Even with all of that, I'm still not Momma. I think the mother/daughter, mother/son bond will always be stronger. It does get frustrating at times to be the only dad in the park with their child. The mommies tend to flock together and I never really feel welcome to join them so my DD and I just play by ourselves. I had one woman tell me one time that it was nice that I was taking my DD to the park on her summer visitation. I was like...what?? She said she assumed that my wife and I were divorced and that this must be my 2 week visitation during the summer since I was at the park with my DD on a Friday morning. Don't all dads work Monday thru Friday, 9-5???
Jump on in and post your story!
Oh Ed-Dad,
You shouldn't feel rotten. You do a wonderful job with your daughter I am sure of that. I am sure your daughter loves you very much...I know I watch her the second 1/2 of the week...Love, Your Wife
Advertisements