Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi-I am a newbie to this forum but am looking for advice or someone who has been through a similar experience. My husband and I are in the process of trying to adopt. We have gone through years of infertility treatments and decided to adopt last year. We were matched this April with a birthmom who was 16 and due in August. We communicated with them all summer and the birthmom was proceeding along well with everything. The birthfather is in prison for violating parole/statutory rape and has had a drug abuse problem for many years. Anyway, we had communicated with him and he said he wished he could raise his child but knew that he couldn't and that we were the best choice. He said he wasn't going to change his mind. The birthmom and him are not on speaking terms-still a lot of anger in the situation. Anyway, we brought baby boy home from the hospital and were in euphoria until we recently found out birthfather is contesting and not voluntarily siging TPR. He wants to "fight for his child". We are devastated at the thought of losing baby and very emotionally stressed right now. The birthmom is very stressed and doesn't feel her rights are being heard either. A court date has just been set and it is over 2 months away. Does anyone have any advice or thoughts on this? The birthfather has been DNA tested and verified to be the father. He has formally contested the adoption and has a public defender. We seem to have a good attorney, but I am wondering if anyone else has had experiences like this before? I don't know if the fact that he is in prison or the fact that he will be in prison for another year has anything to do with it but I hope that will help our side. I guess this goes before a jury which can be unpredictable at best...any thoughts on how to cope in the meantime?
Advertisements