Advertisements
Advertisements
:confused: Hi everyone...my best friend is pregnant and wants me and my fiancee to adopt him or her. My question is, does anyone know about how this would work? Like, would it be a bit cheaper in price since it's basically "direct placement"...we don't need anyone to find us a baby. Also, can the paperwork for the adoption all be signed and legalized before she gives birth, or do we all have to wait until the baby is born. If we have to wait until the birth, does she have a certain amount of time after the papers are signed to change her mind and keep the baby? Sorry to have so many questions...I'm very new at adoption.
Any help would be very much appreciated
well here in the state of WI, you would have to go and file with the courts, and as long as the birthparents (both M & D) agree, you just go before the Judge and sign the papers. There is still the 6 month waiting period, so you would have to schedule the meeting with the judge for after the baby is 6 months old.
You could hire a lawyer to do the paperwork also, but I think if you call the court house, they should have all the nessary papers you would need to file yourself. Then your only cost would be the filing of the papers and the new birthcert.
When we adopted our DD, we got the papers from our CW, but we filed them out and filed them ourselves with the court. Saving the cost of having a lawyer involved.
One word of advice however....its your best friends baby.....what happens in a couple years if your friend doesn't like the way your raising "HER" child???? Something to think about.
Good Luck
1 Liked
 likes this.
Advertisements
Here are the specific things you'll need to find for your state:
1 - Find out who can adopt.
What are the age limits?
Can two unrelated people adopt together? (You and your fiance aren't related yet, so you may be barred from adopting together - one of you may have to adopt as a single instead.)
Etc.
2 - Find out who has to consent to the adoption.