Advertisements
Advertisements
Hello. Does anyone know the policy for opening adoption records and other laws for the state of New York? Please let me know any information you may have. Thank you! :) Jen
PrInCeSsInNY23
Hello. Does anyone know the policy for opening adoption records and other laws for the state of New York? Please let me know any information you may have. Thank you! :) Jen
The laws affecting adoption in New York State appear to be listed under Domestic Relations (Chapter 14), Article 7. Link here [url=http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/menugetf.cgi?COMMONQUERY=LAWS]Laws of New York[/url]
Specifically look under Article 7, Title 2, 114. It appears that "good cause for disclosure" may be established on medical grounds.
Disclaimer - I am not a lawyer and can not provide legal advice in this matter.
Advertisements
hi : )
I was also searching for infor since i was adopted in NYC, from the Family Court... but my search has been on hold for personal reasons.
However, if you know the county or city court in which you adoption was finalized, you can directly petition that court, but they are not really bound to release everything, as all records in NY are sealed. i know, frustrating, right?
However (again!) you can call the Family/Adoption/Probate Court in that city where you were adopted and talk to someone who can probably help you. I was in touch with a woman from the New York City Courts, since I know that my adoption was finalized in that court. All i have to do now, to see if she can get some information for me is fax some info to her directly. Hopefully there is someone as nice as her that you can get in contact with. If you need me to find her name/e-mail, I can.. i am just pressed for time right now. Sorry!!
Good luck!!!