Advertisements
Advertisements
2007 was my first year with a placement by the county DSS, so I am new at doing taxes with a dependent. My foster child lived with me for 8 months last year (IRS requires "more than 6 months"). When I tried to electronically file my taxes, my return was refused because my foster child had already been claimed as a dependent on another person's tax return (his parents, I presume).
So, those of you more experienced that me: Are you claiming your foster children as dependents on your taxes? Have you ever run into this issue? How was it resolved.
Thanks in advance for your advice and support.
Well, if is going to be WORTH the trouble ($$), I would file via paperwork. I had the same problem with one of my foster kids years ago. The IRS sent me a questionnaire, and is a long and extensive list of things you have to have receipts for. They also requested a letter from DCFS stating when FC was placed in my home, of course CW and supervisor didn't want to do that, because they said he was not my dependent, (I wasn't calling them for tax consultation), anyways, I ended up faxing the IRS the initial placement agreement paperwork. I did finally get my full refund, as FC qualified me as head of household.
Advertisements
My kids' last FP had the same problem. She had to file through the mail and later prove she had them. She, too, got her refund. The parents didn't even get in trouble.
Believe me, they got in trouble. They will either get a bill for the refund they received, with penalties or Uncle Sam will get them next year when they file again. I'm not a foster parent, but this happened between me and my ex. He claimed my son knowing full well, I was his custodial parent and provided all financial support. I had to write a letter to the IRS proving that my son was in my physical care for at least 6 months and I received my full refund. It took about 8 weeks to get it all clear.