Advertisements
Advertisements
I just want to let all of you know who live in SC that you can do this in most counties without an attorney, all forms are on line, and it is pretty simple to do! We had to use an atty for our sons back in 2005 b/c Georgetown county Family Court Judge required representation BUT we have moved and our new county, Darlington, was much nicer about it! We had our hearing date yesterday and all went well! I will be glad to direct you to the online forms and share any info we learned through this. With an atty it is around $2000 to do this--without one-- $200! You can do this yourself. It is not that hard. Feel free to PM me if you need any info.
Advertisements
Congrats!! I am from SC and still have family there and visit often. We just plunked down the big bucks for an attorney...similar situation. as your first...we didn't HAVE to have representation BUT they make it soooo much smoother that way. Oh well. I will be happy to have it done.
I am just beginning the process in Horry County. If you could PM me any information that you have, I would greatly appreciate it! We have our follow up visit with our social worker at the end of February. Thanks!
Hello,
I am also a SC resident and need to domesticate our son's adoption. It was back in Feb 2001 from Romania and we really haven't had a reason to domesticate but would like to now. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks for your help :)
I sent a PM, btw...
Hi Franki h,
I got your PM and responded but went into my PM and my response wasn't there.. not sure what happened. What I said in my PM is that I need to send you the file by email b/c it is too big to PM. I gave you my email address to respond to me so I can attach it. I will try to PM you again and give you my email. Sorry for the confusion! :) Let me know by this thread if you don't get my PM, Thanks!
Kim
Advertisements