Advertisements
Advertisements
Hello everyone I am new to this and I have a million questions. My husband and I are in Gwinnett County, Georgia and we are ready to start the adoption process. We are going through DFACS. We have been to orientation and we take our IMPACT training at the end of the month. We are only looking to adopt and we are looking for a child under 3. Which we have been told will be impossible. I am just wondering where we go from here? Has anyone had any experience in Gwinnett? I have read good and bad things about them so I am a little confused. At the orientation we signed up with an outside agency Georgia Mentor that handles adoptions for Gwinnett, has anyone worked with them? I am just wondering what to expect.
Good Luck on your quest. I also live in GA, Cherokee county. We did foster to adopt and wanted to adopt a child from birth to 5 years old. We were told it would be hard to find a younger child. After 3 years we left the DFACS system and went through a private agency located in our county. It took 9 months with the private agency for our placement to occur.
Advertisements
Hi July 0707. I live in Gwinnett County as well but have no experience regarding DFACS. We adopted DD independently using an attorney. Just wanted to wish you luck!
Hello everyone, we got our class schedule in the mail yesterday we are going for sure starting May 29th, what an exciting adventure this will be. I have a question about the cost of going through a private agency, the reason we are going through the state is because from what I hear private adoption is very expensive, does anyone have any suggestions. We are holding a huge yard sale next month to raise money to start preparing our house and other expenses.