Advertisements
Advertisements
Hello all,
I am a total newbie, just embarking on this crazy journey called (foster) adoption. I read on another website that the term 'paper pregnant' is offensive to other people. It did not explain why. Perhaps I am being a little dense, but I want to educate myself. I also do not want to inadvertently offend someone.
Thank you.
Thank you for that everyone.
I think I like the term (since it is the only way I am going to be pregnant). Plus, a pregnant pause means a big pause. Paper pregnant can mean big (piles) of paper work, lol.
Stevenstwin, amen to that! I see it every day.
Advertisements
I've never been pregnant but spend nine months going through similar emotions as my pregnant friends and the day before I was placed I spent the entire day on the floor writhing in some unknown pain. A friend said it was "Labor" whatever it was it sucked. Now my pregnant friends who have babies and me who have babies are exactly the same...so who cares. An adoptive parent needs to feel "pregnant" it is important, otherwise, you don't prepare your heart and mind for a child. No, it's not the same thing, but when you are finally wiping that child's running nose, shoving a few more morsels of food in their mouth while they try one more go at climbing to the top of the monkey bars, nearly falling to their death, you're a parent just like the rest of them. Pregnancy or no...so paper pregnant is what you are.
It seems like "expectant" would be a better term. Both birth parents and non-birth parents (in dyads - when only one is pregnant) are expectant, as are adoptive parents.
We are definitely feeling 'expectant' and wanting to nest, as much or more so than when we actually were pregnant (and pre-miscarriage).