Advertisements
Advertisements
I am trying to connect with other adult adoptees who also can't have their own kids -- cut off at both ends, so to speak. I am one such person, and I haven't been able to find any information or resources addressing this issue. If you know of any, please let me know. I just want to know how the infertility might compound the issues of identity and disconnection that most adoptees already feel. I am doing this research on a personal level... that is, for me. But I'm also a writer and am thinking of taking up the subject somehow if I can find others to talk to, as well. But mostly I just want to find others like myself.
Thanks for any help!
Advertisements
Untethered, I am not an adoptee, but my husband is...and "we" are infertile (I say "we" because we have a case of "unexplained infertility." I suspect it is "more me," but who knows?).
I know it was pretty hard on DH....he said he was always hoping to "see" someone who looked like him. His two sibs (adopted) had bio kids and I think he thought that was pretty cool. In any event, we ended up adopting our DD, and he is gaga over her (of course). He also has made some contact with his birth mom and a birth sister (also adopted)...though he still has not "met" anyone in person...I hope he does someday.
Good luck to you -- infertility is very hard (I know), and I suspect it is even harder as an adoptee. Although infertility treatments never worked for us, they did for many of my infertile friends (I don't know if you are pursuing treatments or not).
loveajax,
Thank you so much for sharing. Congratulations on your daugther! She's lucky to have someone who knows what it's like to be adopted, that will probably be a blessing for all of you.