Advertisements
Advertisements
we've wanted to adopt for many years and aren't sure when is the best time to do it, but we've recently been struck by a number of stories lately (some statistics, some advertizing, and a particular kid i actually know who has been been on the wait list for many years and is now 17) that lead me to wonder if adopting a kid this age would be a good fit. i honestly don't know what to expect from the adoption process of an older kid; however i work in the field of sexual abuse and have heard it a lot, so i do feel prepared with potential issues in that area. in my mind, adopting this age child gives them a sort of last-chance at being part of a family before they age-out of the system.
so, what are the potential challenges? what are your stories of adopting this age child? we have a 2 year old son currently and hadn't considered adopting anybody older than him until recently... we would be extremely attentive to issues of safety.
ok, what else do i need to know? thanks for reading!
oops, i should add a couple things: i really don't know what to expect in terms of how the relationship would be... my husband and i would only be about 12 years older than this age kid, what our role would be... i don't know if these kids would really see us as "mom" or "dad" since they have lived so much of their childhood without, and since they are so close to adulthood. my husband works at a college, so this age kid would have an opportunity to attend a private college for next to nothing. we can give them a safe place, support emotionally and physically, give them an extended family of support, and i am very versed in psychological issues and abuse/trauma through my education and profession (though i know that is different than actually living with it in your home). we maybe would not be the perfect family to suit these kids, but in my mind, aren't we better than nothing? these are just questions i have rolling around in my mind.
1 Liked
 likes this.