Advertisements
Advertisements
Decided June 1, 2010
If link does not work Google New Jersey Division Of Family Services v C.M.
[URL="https://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/opinions/supreme/A7408DYFSvCM.pdf"]https://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/opinions/supreme/A7408DYFSvCM.pdf[/URL]
In summary, psycological harm due to severing a bond between a child and his/her foster parents cannot, in and of itself, serve as a reason for Terminating a Parents Rights. This will impact many cases. I understand that bonding evaluation may no longer take place.
Read for yourself as I am no lawyer and my summary is a real summary..
Advertisements
Wow! Such a heart breaking case for all involved. I'm not familiar with NJ law. Are there further levels of appeal?
The link is broken so I have not read the report.
But stop and think about it for a minute...
A baby is in his/her mothers womb for 10 months...they know their mother, her smell, her voice, her touch.
A baby/child is raised by their mother and father (sometimes) and bonds to those parent(s) and based on the circumstances that the adults cause the baby is removed...the baby/child is bonded but removed.
A baby/child lives with foster parents while the parents either work their case and fix their issues or not...and I am assuming we are talking about those parents who worked their case plan and fixed their issues...
If the parents work their case and fix their issues then the child goes home - to the original bond...
So how would the foster parents bond be any more valid than the original bond? Simply because the foster parents want to adopt?
Kind regards,
Dickons
I have only had time to briefly skim the report, so I don't know the specifics of this case and can't answer as to whether I think this decision is fair in regards to the facts of this case, but in general, I feel that it is wrong not to consider the bonding of the child in permanency decisions.