Advertisements
Advertisements
Mallynn
Kaspoo- If you don't mind my asking, what do you feel you were naive about?
Are their any naive mistakes that you could warn others from making?
I was naive because when I became a FP I was still thinking on the level of a professional. As a professional I had some control, as a FP I have very little to none. My experiences in the human services field helped to give me an idea as to the kinds of children and families I would be working with, I understood the way the court system works, I also understood how most of the CW's think but the hard part was again the control issue.
I have no say, I am just watching from the sidelines and that is/was hard for me. Sometimes I catch myself saying things. I have out and out told CW's that I don't think they are handling things right, and that's not the best way of going about things, people don't like to be told how to do their jobs, even if they need to be told. :woohoo:I have been scolded for my openness, so I have had to change how I approach CW. I have had to step back and say to myself this isn't my case, I am not the CW. This doesn't mean that I don't advocate for my kids, I do, I just have to go about it in a different way like writing letters to the judge, or talking to supervisors, and/ or therapists.
It takes more patients to be a FP then a CW:p . I am always waiting, having to go through several different chains of people to achieve things that use to take me only a few phone calls and emails.There is a big line between working in it, and living in it... it's a whole new world.
Advertisements