Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi All,
We are in appeals and have been since May. We are coming up on 3 years that our fs has been in care and I so want this to be over with. My questions is this - has anyone ever had a situation in which the birthparents won the appeal? I guess I'm just getting nervous that after all this time something could happen in which we would have to go through the process all over again and further prevent permanancy. Thanks in advance for your input.
Advertisements
Appeals since May??? Wow! Here they get 45 days. From what I've been told, they can appeal that they system failed them, but not the actual tpr. Can you give more details
I'm a teacher, not an attorney. Here is how the appeals process was explained to me. There is a timeline to file the appeal. If the appeal is filed inside of this timeframe, the court has the option to hear it or not. The appeal is NOT generally a re-opening of the case. It is a time for the court to look for any violation of rights of the parents or other problems with the way in which the case was tried and to safeguard the right of the parent to have had ample opportunity to get their kids back.
Unless there has been some egregious error on the part of the attorneys, the state, or the court, the appeals are not usually heard.
Having said that, there are times when appeals do go before the court. And there are times when parents have had them overturned. You can google it and find case law--usually wrightslaw has good info on any case that might pertain to you.
I wish I could give you more encouragement, but as we all know, this is a no guarantees kind of lifestyle. We have several attorneys who are members here. I'm hoping they'll respond and give you a better understanding that what I've done.
Good luck--and may the kids get the outcome they deserve.