Advertisements
Advertisements
Cam is now 10.5 months old. I have been noticing for a few months now that she loves to chew on metal. She will bypass all toys, anything remotely okay to chew on, and go straight for the metal. I'd be okay with this if she didn't already have 6 chompers. To be honest, really sometimes wresting the metal from her isn't worth the battle, because she can throw one ugly fit.
Have any of you had children that liked chewing on metal? I did tons of babysitting, and was a nanny, I have never seen a kid go for the metal the way Cam does. :(
Advertisements
Tx has a good point about the coolness feeling good on the gums.
I will throw out the possibility of sensory because as I look back on my daughter's symptoms, chewing on things was a big issue. Does Cam do anything else that concerns you?
My first thought was, "Because she has no fillings!" :D
The coolness is a consideration. Does she do this ALL the time, or at certain times? And like Parenting said, does she do anything else that you notice as different or 'odd'? Sometimes keeping a mini-journal can help find any patterns to behaviors. Something like every a.m. after having o.j. for breakfast she chews on metal.
And what kind of metal? Silverware? Metal table legs? Keys? Is a particular shape of metal more appealing than another?