Advertisements
Advertisements
So, I have an acquaintance who is interested in adopting an older, waiting child. I have known her superficially for years, but I do not know her well, and she came to me asking questions, and I thought I would pose it to you guys:
If you could go back, and talk to yourself at the start of your adoption journey, what do you wish you knew?
I am interested in ALL answers, good, bad, ugly, whatever. I already told her my answer, and I am curious about yours.
On the lines of Mommyto Eli.....but worse, I suppose. The adoption of our older children (all three failed in some way)......was, (I hate to admit) one of the most misjudeged mistakes of my life. My dh and I talk about this from time to time. He doesn't feel as strongly as I do, but I still feel this overall.
I majored in psychology. I also had my associates in elementary ed/special ed. I was teaching behaviorally disordered kids (K-12) and THOUGHT I'd seen it all; knew so much of what to expect. Maybe that was the problem. Maybe I thought things would be 'this way'...and they really were 'that way'. But why wouldn't I think otherwise?
I honestly never thought having kids with such disorders would totally tear up the relationships we had with our other children (pre-teen when they came.....adopted as babies). I never realized how horrible life could be;...even if there were times when we felt we were making a difference with them. I literally prayed one day for God to put it all back like it was! And if that means I'm a horrible parent, so be it. I couldn't take the RAD---severe RAD.....when the DCF had lied to us about the severity of the child's mental illnesses and behaviors. (And we have the tons of paperwork that was withheld from us that truly WOULD Have made a difference in whether we brought the child home or not.)