Advertisements
Advertisements
It is February 16, 2011. I wanted to let anyone interested in adopting from Bulgaria to be informed of the present apparent wait time for a healthy child. I am not an expert, I am just in the process and these are my observations. I am certain some people (who sometimes are secretly affilated with an adoption agency) will disagree with me.
Because Bulgaria adoptions came to a near halt until recently, they have over a thousand dossiers waiting to be referred children. Every couple of weeks they come out with a general list of referrals given. This list is of about 15-20 children. A lot of those referrals have either special needs or are listed as "features in health status."
Currently for healthy children, they are only on the 2006 dossiers for children up to 3 years old, 2006 dossiers for children up to 4 years old, 2008 dossiers for children up to 5 years old, 2008 dossiers for children up to 6 years old, 2009 dossiers for children up to 7 years old and 2010 dossiers for children up to 8 years old. I personally haven't seen any referrals for healthy children under that 3 year mark, but I am not saying they do not exist.
Add in the six months to get your dossier prepared and sent to Bulgaria and then another 2 months to get your dossier registered with the Ministry of Justice in Bulgaria and you will have a rough time frame.
I keep hearing that Bulgaria is going to really get things moving soon, but after seeing only three healthy referrals given out this week in Bulgaria, I don't know when that is going to happen.
This could obviously all change and I certainly hope it does. I want people looking into adopting from Bulgaria to get the current adoption time frame, unlike I am seeing on some adoption agency websites or the untrue short time frame I was told.
Thank you Stephanie! I am trying to decide if I should wait for Bulgaria or adopt from Russia so your response is helpful since you have experience with both.