Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi,
I'm looking for advice on when/how to tell my employer we're planning to adopt and I might need to take FMLA on very short notice.
I've been working (full time) at the company for a few years, but through some changes in my department, I recently was assigned to a different boss. She's very nice, but it's also a much different department than it used to be - there's a lot more competitiveness between employees, drive, working 60-70 hour weeks, etc. (And it's not a law firm!)
Unfortunately, I've recently had to take some time off unexpectedly due to a death in the family, and now I'm getting ready to take a 2-week vacation. (Which was originally planned for last October but had to be postponed 4 times due to projects at work being extended, and believe me, I need the 2-week sanity check.) Between that and the now competitive nature of our department, I'm afraid the news that I will hopefully also need FMLA time soon will be frowned upon and I will be penalized (in discrete ways, of course, since doing something outright could land them in hot water).
We may start to pursue a placement a few weeks after the vacation is over, and due to several past failed adoptions in which we had long matches and lost a lot of money, we're absolutely adamant about restricting our search to situations with an already-born baby or due dates within 7-10 days, so obviously there won't be a lot of advance notice.
We did our home study before I got the new boss, and she doesn't know about it. Given our history (9 years of infertility hell, a lot of miscarriages, the failed adoptions), I don't want to be constantly answering questions about where we're at in the adoption process, and I don't want to have to "untell" if something goes wrong, so I don't want to say anything more than I absolutely have to.