Advertisements
Advertisements
Wow! We let our LW know we could take in one more during the holidays, if there was a need. One day later, we got a call and an hour after the call our newest little one was here! He is a cute little 6 wk old CC boy who will most likely only be with us for about a week or so.
He is on a apnea monitor when he sleeps and I've never worked with one before. His IA worker didnt have much information about it and basically just told us to read the manual! He said the monitor will go off if his heart rate drops too low, but so far it has never happened (except for false alarms/machine malfunctions) so we shouldn't worry about it. He said to use it anytime we arent closely watching him like when we go to sleep at night. Now that I'm thinking it through, how will we know if its a false alarm though? how will we know if his heart rate drops? my understanding is that he would still be breathing at that point. And what do we do to get his heart rate back up to where it should be?
Ugh... kinda worried now.
oh, and his name also starts with a J so now we have two "Baby J"s. lol!
we are changing our first Baby J's nickname to Mrs. President (because she's going to be President some day, I'm sure) and this new guy to Rockstar.
Wow, I am surprised that they would place a little like that. Here, you have to do a little class to get medically fragile. Apnea machine qualifies. I'd recommend that you call your local neonatal unit at the hospital and see if one of the nurses can give you a tip or two. Even at the hospital, at least here, before discharge, the parents have to do a little training session.
Good luck and enjoy him while you have him. :-)
Advertisements