Advertisements
Advertisements
My husband and I have been raising our newly placed pre-adoptive kids for two months now- our son (age 11) and a daughter (age 10). They are our only children. Our daughter came with more psychiatric diagnoses that you can count on one hand; She had no honeymoon period at all, and had tantrums for 2-3 weeks at home and school nearly daily. With firm, clear and consistent boundaries, she is now off of all medications and doing excellent in school and at home.
Before we brought our son home, we were told by his foster mom, teachers, attorney, case manager (and everyone else who had ever met him), what a sweet little joy he is and how well behaved, etc. We noticed this "perfect" behavior was perfectly very fake, and even cheesy. For example, when redirected for something such as leaving his belongings on the floor of the kitchen, he would pause, then very, very sweet say, "Okay, Mama, I'll just go pick them up!!!!". After a month of this "perfect behavior" he would decline after a few days and erupt into a very frustrated and angry mood, slamming doors, throwing chairs, etc. Over the past few weeks, his "bad days" have become more frequent than the fake "perfect" days, which we have been viewing as progress. We would rather him be himself than act perfect and be fake, we just want him to learn to manage emotions appropriately. However, the past 3 days he has been very violent toward me: he has kicked me purposefully in the stomach four times, and on one occasion, tried repeatedly to bite me.