Advertisements
Advertisements
This month is my last month on the extended care program. I'm 21 years old. After this month I will no longer have assistance.
I feel like my life is going no where. I have no job, no car.
Jobs seem so easy for every one else to get. With little or no effort my friends get job offers through contacts. I have put up so many want ads and responded to so many jobs. Just for a simple part time job. With no luck. I'm stuck in this cycle of "I need job experience to progress, but I can't get job experience because I have no job experience".
My only alternative is going back to college. But I just don't have the money for that, that's why I wanted a job in the fist place.
Is/has anyone been through the same thing?
I have never been in your position, but I did want to offer you some advice as a current college student. When you apply for financial aid (grants, scholarships & loans) most programs award funds according to your income. If you have no/little income you will get more aid than someone with a generous income. While I was doing my undergrad I recieved a few grants and took out student loans for the rest. The loans were more than I needed for tuition and I was able to use the extra money for books and expenses since I couldn't work full time while going to school full time. You WILL have to pay back the loans after graduation, but grants and scholarships do not get paid back.
Education is KEY for a good career. Kuddos to you for wanting to better yourself! I suggest you go to your local community college and speak with an advisor. Sounds like you could use a mentor and maybe they can help you find one.
You can message me if you want more advice on college resources.
Good Luck!
Advertisements