Advertisements
Advertisements
Hey, there...I'm new to the Learning Disabilities forum, but I am around on several others...just got a diagnosis today from our OT, for our 10 month old FS..."Developmental Dyspraxia" I knew something was up...and this diagnosis makes sense, so far...just wondering what you all know about it, and what the typical outcome is of continued therapy? Is there anything specific we should be doing for him, other than putting him "through the paces" as our OT says? (working with him on moving from standing to sitting, or sitting to lying down, over and over)...any other tips?
Thanks!
Advertisements
I am dealing with the same issue. I will post more as I learn more. Anyone else have children with dyspraxia?
Wondering how things are going. Did you find something that has worked?
We have been through SP, with non-official OT and PT (he joined in with others and was exposed to it during the normal course of the day in Early Childhood), with our kid who had VERBAL apraxia (dyspraxia). It is a bit different as it has to do with muscles of the mouth and language (being able to "find the word that is on the tip of your tongue", word order, etc.) Several years in and usually he is good enough that others don't notice. Today, thought, the word "item" got him. He just couldn't get the right letters out in the right order - his brain was tired from school.