Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi there!!
So I'm just starting out on the adoptive breastfeeding journey and I'm so excited to be joining this forum!! :cheer:
I've posted in the adoption forums for years now, but things are a bit different now. :) My husband and I are in the process of adopting from Taiwan and are currently on the waiting list. Obviously, we are hoping to get "THE CALL" any day now so in the mean time I'm trying to learn all I can about adoptive breastfeeding because I intend to breastfeed. I know that it may be a challenge and I'll have to work for it, but I think the benefits outweigh it all. Plus even if I can't get milk in, I'm excited about the bonding experience it gives.
So here are my questions...
I have done a lot of research and I know I don't want to be on meds if at all possible. I don't judge anyone that does, I just don't feel it's right for me. So I've read that you can take fenugreek, blessed thistle and goat's rue to help with milk production (in addition to pumping)....Is there anyone that has had experience with these and can share with me how they worked for them? Should I start pumping and taking them at the same time or should I start pumping first? Like I said, we are on the waiting list and can get a call any day and then it's probably 4-8 months before we can bring the baby home. I know I'll have to keep up the pumping till the baby comes home, but at least I can store up in the mean time.
As far as pumping is concerned, this was my plan after doing research....
I figured I start out pumping 3 times a day for 3-5 minutes and then keep moving it up. Eventually getting up to the every 3 hours for like 10 minutes. Does that sound right? In that process should I continue the pumping during the night or only during waking hours?