Advertisements
Advertisements
HI to the List,
My husband and I are contemplating an adoption from Colombia. This is my first time posting to this board.
Due to our ages we would get a slightly older child older toddler-school age. From what we understand the kids in Colombia, as per our agency would be living in a foster care home setting. I remember a friend who adopted from Guatemala. At that time the kids were mostly in foster homes and tended to do well.
My biggest anxiety about moving ahead is the fear of dealing with RAD reactive attachment disorder. Is it less likely that kids in a foster care setting would develop extreme RAD versus older kids in an orphanage setting? Has anyone here adopted a slightly older child (meaning 4-6 years old?)
We have experience with intl. adoption before. Our daughter was adopted from Russia, but she was a baby so she really didn't have any attachment issues the be concerned about.
All inputs appreciated,
Thanks and I hope you all have a good holiday.
Amy K, NJ
Hello Amy,
Last year, we adopted two children (ages 5 & 6 at the time), who were in a foster home. Our children seem to be adjusting and attaching well. I could be wrong, but it seems that RAD issues depend on a lot of factors (birth home environment, foster home environment, etc). I don't have a specific answer for you, sorry.
Rebecca
Advertisements
Hi there my wife and I are starting the process. Can I ask a few questions?
Are you Colombian descent? My wife is and we hear that it will speed up the process. Just wondering.
Who did you use for the US agency? Did you like them? We are still looking.
What city did you adopt from?any reason that city? We would like to Adopt from bucaramanga And I am just wondering about your experience.
Amy: