Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi everyone! I have been lurking these forums for a while, and have finally joined! My husband and I have been saving for and researching russian adoption for about 5 years, and when we finally decided it was time to take a step, russia closed. :( So now we have been looking at poland, and we are still wanting to take the next step, but are first and for most, we need to make a decision on an agency!!!! Right now we are looking at St. Mary's and thinking it is our best option. I'll give you our stats
We are both 26, we will be married for 3 years in May 2013. We are looking to adopt healthy-ish, we would love to have one under 2, or siblings under 3. No specs on gender or appearance.
So, heres my questions....
1. Which agency? (please keep in mind that we have not gone through any infertility treatment, I am adopted, and thats how we want to build our family, this has disqualified us for AT LEAST one agency)
2.St.Mary's was the only agency that said they could get kids under 3, why is that?
3. St. Mary's said they never get a referral for a 100% healthy child, but that is just bc the judge wants to justify sending them out of the country, but they are actually healthy when seen by a US physician.
4. We also talked a great deal to Great Wall of China adoptions, and they seemed knowledgeable, but they just opened their program and haven't completed one polish adoption yet, so that makes me a little leary.
5. Agencies said that poland likes to place with young couples and our age could help us. Also, I have been raised catholic, (hubby lutheran) and we were married in the catholic church, plan to raise kids catholic, catholic schools etc. Agencies said this could help us also, are either of these things true?
I would GREATLY aprreciate any opinions, advice, etc. I know we can't talk about agencies on the forum, so pleave email me at b.vorholt@yahoo.com
Thanks in advance ladies!