Advertisements
Advertisements
This could get long.
My husband and I have been doing foster care for 2 years. We got a girl that was 2 months old in feb. 11- we got her older sister, who was 11, in Oct. 11-
Mom terminated rights by Nov. so we adopted them by Aug. 12.
We have 2 bio children both girls, 1 is a year older than big sis the other is a year younger than, Right now they are 13,12,11.
They get along well and treat each other like sisters. We are completely in love with the baby- she is like our own. The 12 yo is a great kid and doesn't have any emotional issues, but is not bonding with us.
She speaks with BM once a month and we have agreed to 2 visits a year. The trouble is I am having trouble too.
I am a hugger and she doesnt want to be touched, so I view this as rejection to me (yes, I know better) but it makes it very difficult to "embrace" her as my child.
I grew up feeling like my step-father didnt really want me and I don't want that for her, but I can't figure out how to accept her when she doesn't make any effort.
Ugh
My advice is the same advice my social worker gave me - FAKE IT TIL YOU MAKE IT. Attachment (both ways) and bonding takes time.
You ARE committed to her. She IS your child. And now you show that. Love really isn't a feeling -- it is an action, and interaction, and the "feelings" are a bonus if they come.