Advertisements
Advertisements
My husband and I have been hoping to adopt for the last year or so (we are doing independant domestic infant adoption). Our homestudy was approved in March of 2012. I followed protocol with birth control and Domperidone starting in February 2012. I started pumping in July. I have been pumping for 10 months and still don't have a baby. Our first adoption happened very quickly, so I wanted to have milk ready if that should be the case this time around. Unfortunately, it hasn't been. I was amazed at how well my body responded to the protocol. At my highest I was pumping about 18 ounces of breast milk per day. Now, I am down to 12 ounces per day. I am SO tired of pumping! I struggle to pump 5 times per day to maintain my supply with the hopes that a baby finds us soon. I know I could pump more to increase my supply again, but right now there's no point. I have donated thousands of ounces of milk over the last year, which makes me feel good, but I really just want a baby of my own to feed! Is anyone else out there pumping while waiting for a baby to feed? It is so important to me to be able to nurse our baby as I didn't do it with my son, and I still feel guilty about depriving him of that bond and the superior nutrition that it provides, but sometimes I feel like I want to give up! Just looking to hear other peoples stories.
This forum has really dried up, but I am on a closed forum on Facebook that I'm sure would be more than happy for you to join! There are others who have been through the same thing, or are going through it right now. I know its difficult to know what to do when you have a milk supply and no baby yet. Some just go to pumping a few times a day until they know something and then use their frozen milk in the Lact-Aid, as needed. Anyway, send me a PM if you are interested in the Facebook thing and I will pass it on!
Advertisements