Advertisements
Advertisements
I am just starting out and it seems this section does not get much traffic but I will try. My husband and I have just started classes at WVCCC and they seem very nice but a little overwhelmed. Just wondering if anyone has gotten licensed to foster/adopt through them and if they make the process quick or if it seemed to take longer. Any stories of experience with them would be helpful so I know what I can expect. I have read so much about agencies that seem to want to make it so difficult. Just want to know if I am in for a battle. The need is so high here in AZ seems like they would want to expedite if we have everything done we are suppose to have. :cop:
MrsMichael33, I got licensed through RISE in Mesa, so I haven't heard of WVCCC. Buttttt, the faster you get everything done, the faster you will get licensed.
It definitely shouldn't be a battle!
After you complete PS-MAPPS, the licensing worker has a month to submit your application and home study to the state. The state then take about 4-6 weeks to approve or deny it. So, after training, you're looking at 2+ months of "down" time.
Hope this helps!
Advertisements
Thanks for the response I appreciate any info I can get. We have only been to two classes and I've turned in everything but the bios which I'm just editing before next class. So I'm totally on top of paperwork. Good to know they have a time limit for their part... Would be nice if we could get licensed by the holidays... They said we generally get placement same day. Exiting and terrifying at the same time! :popcorn:
Awesome!!
Also, I wouldn't expect to get a placement on the same day! haha. After you get approved by the state, you have to meet with the licensing agent to go over some stuff and she/he will add you to the open beds list.