Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi all. I took our FC to the Dr. this morning and they said he has Foot-Hand-And-Mouth disease. I let our SW know. What my question is, is when a child gets sick/injured does that automatically mean an investigation will follow? We have nothing to hide, but I must admit it is kinda scary.
Mom to:
Bio Son 7 :arrow:
FS 2 :arrow:
No; they know babies get sick. I would think they'd investigate if a baby has suspicious bruising.
Advertisements
Thanks, Millie! I didn't think so but wasn't sure. Gee, can you tell I'm a newbie! LOL! :banana:
I'm giggling but only because if they really wanted to investigate every time my medically fragile baby gets sicks/ill they may as well keep an investigator sitting outside my house because if she's not have a reaction/illness/etc there's something going on. I wouldn't worry. :)
All we need to do is take a health contact form showing why the child went to dr. even for well baby's we take them.
Advertisements
Our foster son just had the same illness!! I guess it is going around like crazy!!
He has had strep throught, a head cold, hand foot and mouth, and pink eye!! This in teh last 2 months!!! THank you daycare!!!! Thank goodness they dont investigate EVERY illness....I just email the CW of any appointment is diagnosis and medicine he is taking.
First thought: "goodness, no. why on earth would they do that?"
Second thought: "How sorry of a system that foster parents worry that an investigation is around every corner."
Our first foster baby ever (16years ago) had it too. It was so bad we had some lidocaine mixture for his throat so he could eat. Thankfully, none of the other five kids got it (we had a five year old and five two and under!).
Accidents and illness happens. They do have to report certain things like ER trips; but I've never had any of those, even the head injury one, turn into anything else.