Advertisements
Advertisements
Is anyone willing to share what effect your faith has had on your adoption journey? Whether you are adoptive parents, the adoptee or the birth parent.
Thank you for sharing your story Leaah. I imagine that at 13 it was really incomprehensible for you.
It is always challenging to seek God's will rather than our own. As a pastor I frequently remind my congregations that we need to listen to God instead of always telling him what we want. Ironically of course, I am preaching to myself!
1 Liked
 likes this.
Advertisements
I'm not sure you really want my answer to this question. Yes, religion, spirituality and adoption have affected each other in my life. The process of my adoption itself was intimately tied up in religion as I went through a religious adoption agency, my adoptive parents had to pass a religious test of sorts, etc.
I am no longer a member of that fold, so to speak.
As I've thought more about it, I realized that I would be really interested on hearing other adoptees' views on this topic.
For the eighteen years that I had no clue where my son was living or how he was doing, the only thing that kept me sane was my relationship with God. Every night for 18 years I would go outside, stare up at the moon, and pray for him. I actually felt some sort of spiritual connection with him every night when I prayed, but it's hard to describe in words. The one thing that I knew from the bottom of my heart was that the same God that was listening to my prayers was the same God that was looking after my son. And this brought me a tremendous amount of comfort.