Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi,
I've been lurking a for a little while and have been considering adoption for more than a few years. I haven't started my adoption journey. I'm still just considering my options and how it would work. One of my biggest concerns at this point is how to provide child care. I work 3 12 hr shifts a week, including rotating every other weekend. My question is how do you manage child care with the long hours and weekends?
I've thought about doing a combination of part time day care with family helping out on the weekends and afterhours, but it just seems like a lot to ask for.
Thanks for any input!
are you a nurse? could you change your setting so you'd have a more traditional work schedule? I'm guessing you have more money the way you are doing it now.
You could hire a nanny-but having a family member help you would be lovely every other weekend.
I'm a nurse and already had a M-F 9-5 type job when i adopted my kiddos.
Advertisements
Yes, I am a nurse in a very specialized unit. The only way to change my schedule would be to leave the unit as my manager is not flexible with weekend scheduling. All full & part time nurses work every other weekend. As of right now, I can't see myself leaving the unit. I really enjoy woking there.
A lot probably depends on where you live and what child care is available--I've heard of some places that have odd or extended hours for child care but I'm not sure that even exists any more.
Options would probably also depend on the age of the child you adopt. For example, some home care providers may be more willing to keep an infant for extended hours, others may feel better about an older child.