Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi. I'm new to the sight and fairly new to fostering. we got our first placement back at the end of July 2013, straight from the hospital, a "drug baby". Now they are trying to place him with his aunt who originally said she wouldn't/couldn't take him (she already has his 2 siblings, ages 3 and 5 and is single). social services offered to get her foster care approved in order to get her financial reimbursement and then she agreed to take him. she isn't a terrible placement, but he is thriving with us, we are the only family he knows and with her he will be in daycare fulltime as opposed to us caring for him fulltime. do we have any chance of keeping him over her??? His guardian ad lidum doesn't want him moved to where he'll be in daycare all the time and CASA is also recommending he stay with us, but DSS is trying to push it thru, under the radar before his next court hearing (CASA and his GAL only found out how fast they are trying to do this from me....DSS has been keeping them in the dark and won't return any of their phone calls.
Any advice or insight on this? We are in Va. don't know what the laws are here.....does family placement always trump any other really good placement?
First off, I truly empathize with your situation. It's always difficult to take in a child, care for them and bond with them and then to see them go to reunions. That is the heartbreak of fostering in general, and all the harder when you're fostering with the intention to adopt and you see a child that could be adopted and have them slip through your fingers, not knowing when or if you'll get another one. I can only imagine your heartache, fear, confusion, frustration and desperation.