Advertisements
Advertisements
After a huge breakthrough this week and follow through that all matches up, this has to be him. If it's not then it's pretty mind blowing.
He's my older half brother, stayed with his mom and was adopted by his stepfather at 4 years old. My father had no contact with him since (and likely for some time before). It's now 43 years later and I'm desperate to contact him. But I'm unsure of what to do. There is definitely a chance that he doesn't know our dad existed and thinks that his stepfather is his dad.
Any advice? Write a letter? And how much do I say in the letter? Unfortunately dad passed away 5 years ago...
I'm just freaking out about the possibility of turning his world upside down if he doesn't know. But I can't spend the rest of my life wondering about him. I've been doing that for so many years already and it's particularly difficult since losing my dad. And, if he does know about him it's all negative and there's so much more I want him to know.
Need your help!
Thank you!
So, assuming I have this right from your previous posts.
You're siblings through your dad.
He was born in late 1966.
Your dad and his mom divorced around 1970.
She remarried and her husband, his step dad, adopted him.
I going to guess that the marriage didn't happen immediately after the divorce, divorce wasn't quick or easy to get back then. The adoption probably didn't happen for a while after the marriage - no idea what the NY rules were for that but usually they want to know the marriage is stable first.
He might know he is adopted if the timeline above is right. I guess they could have done it behind his back because he wouldn't have been old enough for his consent to be needed (around age 12). But still there is a good chance he knows even if they never mentioned it.