Advertisements
Advertisements
We are in NJ and tomorrow we attend our orientation event. I'm not worried about background checks for either of us; my guy has had it through work and DCF already has mine as I am a Pre-k teacher. I called and made sure we could apply even though we live in an extended family house (we have our own house, but it is connected through a doorway we don't use and that is locked from the other side). I thought I could get a few other questions answered, but they didn't really want to chat. ;-)
I have so many questions about homestudy - will they give us a checklist at the orientation?!? LOL
I don't know, for instance, if I need a real lock on medicine or just a child-proof lock. The same goes to cleaners.
We have finished floors in all but one room (the master bedroom) because when we moved in it smelled like cat pee so we ripped the carpet up. We logically finished up all the rooms "anyone else will see" and haven't done that because it would require moving all the furniture. I wish I knew if they'll have an issue with it.
What kind of financial information are they going to look for? I don't make much money as I work part-time and am a student, but my partner makes more, and we have no debt and not many bills. I'm figuring they just want to make sure we're not in it for the money and that we can cover a child until they "reimburse" us?
We have dogs and all their paperwork, but will they need to meet them? They jump is all...and one of them has a nervous bladder around new people who touch her ears/head. LOL They have a "doggie mudroom" in the kitchen and from there can be let into the house, so we'd be able to familiarize a new child to them without them licking the child to death.
From my rambling I'm sure you can tell I am EXCITED! :happydance: :banana: :happydance: