Advertisements
Advertisements
Good morning!
I am very new to the fostering process... I just started my training and should start home study very soon. I am a single parent with grown children. I have heard nothing but horror stories about behavior from foster children, which is making me panic. I have an excellent family support system and this is something I truly want to do. I would love to hear some positive fostering stories and also what to expect with the first placement. What does everyone have their foster children call them?
Thanks in advance!
Sam
Hi Sam!
Behaviors, first of all, are relative. They depend on age, perspective, expectations and experiences for everyone involved from every angle.
All kids have behaviors. Foster kids probably have more, but mostly because what could have been helped, wasn't. People talk about the horror stories because those are the stories that make you need support and to reach out and have camaraderie with others in your same situation. Sometimes people talk about the the worst of the bad behaviors so that you are prepared. But *most* behaviors in a regular, traditional, foster home can be curbed with patience, communication and whatever the child's *currency* is.
My mantra is to tackle things one at a time. Pick the biggest, or whatever is a safety issue or whatever bothers you the most and then figure out what will "work" with that child..... do they respond to rewards? Do they respond to attention?
There's kids who have a honeymoon stage - where kids will be on their best behavior and then behaviors set in when the kids trust you, or get sick of you. There's kids who are bad right off the bat because they haven't ever been taught anything. There's kids who, on top of having been mistreated and not taught things are angry at YOU for a host of reasons, mostly just because you're the one that's there.