Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi, I am new here but hoping to get some advice! My boyfriend and I have owned our house and lived together since March 2014. We are not married and both are 26. I am a teacher and he has a full time job as well.
We have recently decided that we are very interested in becoming foster parents. We bot have a great love in our hearts for providing a safe home for children that may need it. We will be attending an informational meeting in May.
I'm curious if anyone here has any experience becoming foster parents if they are unmarried intimate partners- this is the states wording. Do you have any advice or encouraging words of how it works in this situation?
Thanks in advance! :love:
It depends on your state and their regulations as well as even your agency, I would think.
I can tell you about Missouri and how the county Children's Division does it - because I just attended a foster parent support group for my county and there is a woman there who has an unmarried partner. We actually got started talking about it last week for some random reason.
She said only one of them was required to be licensed, but because there is another adult living in the home her partner was required to get background checked, fingerprinted etc. Additionally, BOTH of them have to do the required training each year (here you are required to have 30 hours of continued training each licensing period... which is every 2 years).
Personally, I would probably go ahead and both of you get licensed - just so you say you are. If you have to do all the training anyway.... I don't see why you wouldn't.