Advertisements
Advertisements
Hello. I am 23 years old and I live in the United States, Texas to be specific. I have been knowing that I want a daughter of my own since I was in high school. I am currently a college student trying to get an associate's degree in another year or a year in a half. I also want a bachelor's degree. After I settle down and get a job in my career field, I plan on adopting. I actually already have clothes for my daughter that I know she will love. They are some things I used to wear when I was a child, and I know she will love what I bought. I am also a Lesbian, so I know I will have to explain my sexuality to my daughter although I have no plans to be dating anyone while I am raising my daughter. I plan on spending the rest of my days raising her and being the best parent I can be. I was abused as a child mentally and also abused at school and have dealt with plenty of things that have molded me to the person I am today. I want to make sure my daughter does not go through the same struggles I have been through. I really look forward to adopting and I am also looking into volunteering at a children's shelter to help me out when I adopt.
Does anyone have any suggestions or comments? I want to know how it is when a single parent that is gay/lesbian and they want to adopt a child (the process, fees, etc.)
Advertisements
Hi, I am an adoptee that was immediately adopted at birth. I have since married and had my own biological children. So here is my input.
I'm glad to see you are looking forward to long term goals in life and hopefully you have come to terms with the scars you received through your youth. If not please get counseling as it will help you to heal and move forward in a more positive way as you create your own family.