Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi, everyone! This is my first time posting, though I've been reading threads for some time. My husband and I have a 3 year old son and aren't able to have more children, so decided to try foster to adopt. We recently accepted our first placement, a newborn girl. We were overjoyed to bring her home from the hospital. We bonded with her immediately and feel like she is our daughter. We were told we may also get her 17 month old brother, and 7 weeks later he has arrived. We've only had him about a week now. But, I'm finding it I so hard to bond with him! He's definitely a little wild and into EVERYTHING! Maybe I'm not bonding, because I have to spend so much time correcting him? I feel so overwhelmed with the entire situation. He's constantly into something he shouldn't be, or needs fed or changed. The baby requires a lot of time and attention, as does my 3 year old who is having to adjust as well. I feel like I'm being pulled in a million directions and I'm not giving each child what they need. Lord knows I'm trying. I'm at the point that I'm discouraged with it all, and wondering if I'm doing the right thing..is it selfish of me to do this, when my son is having to sacrifice? And are the babies are being disserviced as well?
Next issue...birth mom is very attached to the 17 month old. She shows no interest in the baby girl. She's actually mentioned signing over her rights to us to adopt her. When we mentioned this to the case worker, she at first said it was impossible. After asking her if it was really in baby girls best interest to go to a home where she isn't wanted, the worker decided that maybe it was possible and would check into it. Has anyone been in a similar situation?