Advertisements
Advertisements
Hi. I am new to this whole site so please bare with me.
I have been living abroad for the last 6 years with my husband and our 6 year old son. We are now wanting to adopt from a non-Hague country. When I have looked over the paperwork that it requires for the child to immigrate into the USA it keeps says a home study in the state that you reside in. Obviously, we do not reside in any state and do not know which state we will reside in due to the fact that I am a teacher and it all depends where I get a job. My husband will be immigrating too and the process length that it takes in our country is 16-24 months from start to finish.
Therefore, my question is how do I do a home study while abroad? Is that even possible?
Also while looking at the IR-3 (I believe) it said I needed to work with a USA lawyer for the adoption. Is that necessary too?
Thank you for your help.
If you will be returning to the U.S. within the next 1-2 years, you may wait until you return to start your adoption process. One important reason is that your homestudy will need to be valid for the place to which you are bringing your child, whether in the U.S. or in some foreign country, when you appear at the U.S. Embassy in the child's country, to obtain his/her visa. Given that most adoptions, nowadays, take at least 18 months to two years, you could find yourself having to spend anywhere from under $1,000 (rare) to well over $5,000 for a brand new homestudy, if you change your country of residence during the adoption process. While you can have a cheaper homestudy update done, if you are moving from house to house within the same state or foreign province, a state to state or country to country move is a much bigger deal.