Advertisements
Advertisements
My wife and I have been fostering a wonderful girl for roughly 8 months and recently some events have happened that have worrying all the time, but before that let me give you a little background.
I'm in my early 20's as is my wife. We've been married for over 2 years and last year we got a call from a family member asking if we would be interested in kinship foster care for our little cousin (then 10 months old). Keep in mind I wanted to wait another 5 years or so before even THINKING about kids. Well long story short we spent some time with her and had her in our home by the end of the week. They weren't exaggerating when they tell you that babies use ALOT of diapers.
Fast forward through all the paperwork and classes and fun stuff. The first few months the babies mother (aunt through marriage) just didn't care. She would miss visits, deny drug tests, refuse treatment etc. history on her is that she's lost 5 other children to the system already. We knew getting into this that the end goal was reunification of possible but we all know we can't help but get our hopes up.
The father (my uncle) went to visit sometimes but would also miss at times. He admitted to not being able to take care of the baby himself if it came down to it. Don't get me wrong, they both love her to death, addiction just gets in the way.
Throughout all of this keep in mind that the parents are on again off again.
Anyways, after months of no progress they were kicked out of their government housing which led to both of them getting into a rehab. The father finished his and went to a halfway house that he left because of some issues with getting a bed and a job. He's currently working away but his wishes are that we would be able to keep the child and give her a good life.