Advertisements
Advertisements
Hello,
I am hoping someone can help me on this one. We live in NC and I am wanting to adopt my stepchild. They are 15 and never met their biological father. My stepchild was conceived through rape 16 years ago. The biological father was made aware of the outcome of his actions and immediately disappeared. The stepchild has never been in contact with the biological parent and the biological parent has never attempted to contact the child. Can I adopt my stepchild without "consent" from the biological father?
Thanks in advance.
1 Liked
 likes this.
I'm not an expert, but I did find some info you might find useful.
"Unlike a husband or legal father, however, an unwed biological father’s right to receive notice does not mean that his consent is required in order for the adoption to proceed. A man who fathers a child out of wedlock must take affirmative steps to show his commitment to establishing a parent-child relationship before the law recognizes his right to prevent an adoption by withholding his consent.
After he is served with notice of adoption proceedings, a father will have to assert a claim of paternity within a certain timeframe. If he fails to respond, the court will most likely enter an order that his consent is not required for adoption. If he does respond, his consent may still not be needed — but this is on a case-by-case basis dependent upon your own situation. An attorney working with a woman in an adoption situation will need a lot of information about what the biological father has done since she became pregnant."
1 Liked
 likes this.
Advertisements