Advertisements
Advertisements
I'm a college student from a fairly conservative school, so I live with fairly conservative roommates. This hadn't been an issue until I talked with them about my birth daughter. I'm not ashamed of her, there are photos of her in my room and I talk about her openly with friends and on social media. But somehow my roommates didn't realize I had a birth daughter until a few days ago. Since then, it's been very uncomfortable in the house. I feel like they're avoiding me, and I feel like they think I'm horribly irresponsible. They've gone so far as to say that I can't have my boyfriend over, and I feel like they think I'm going to get pregnant again. I don't feel like it's their place to try and impose rules on me, especially because I am at absolutely no risk of getting pregnant because I'm currently abstinent. They refuse to have a conversation with me about this. It's become so tense and stressful in my home that I no longer feel welcome, and am considering moving out. I can handle strangers judging me and saying mean things about my being a birth mom, but not the people I live with. Is it worth losing a great deal on rent to feel better?
Advertisements
They aren't your parents. They need to act like roommates or THEY need to move out. They are overstepping the boundaries of a roommate relationship, if they are doing things they forbid you to do (Have your boyfriend over).
Honestly, I wouldn't give them a chance to 'talk about it' -- I'd tell them that it's none of their business and they don't dictate what you can and can not do, outside of the 'roommate relationship' and if THEY are uncomfortable with it, they can find another place to live!
This is some BIGTIME BS. Do NOT take it. It is not your responsibility to make them comfortable. This infuriates me. Like I am LIVID sitting here reading this. I want to freakin scream!
UGH! Seriously, like I CAN NOT let this go. I would have to throat punch someone.