Advertisements
Advertisements
I am a 22 year old undergrad studying at a university in California. I am a Junior. Prior to my move out here, I was in Michigan, and worked at a boys foster home, developing a good relationship and rapport with many of the boys.
I returned home yesterday for the Thanksgiving holiday, and one of the boys has been having a really rough time. He is 12, and while I was away, his parent's rights were terminated. He went on a pretty bad spell behaviorally, and his worker was given notice last month that he needed to be removed from the home. He however has not been informed as of yet.
We talked at length yesterday one on one, as it seemed I had developed some sort of additional trust with many of the boys, me having returned when so many in the past have not to them. With this boy in particular, in our conversation, I told him I would not give up on him, and he replied that that is what everyone has always told him, before they did (give up on him).
He has had a really rough past, and he needs counseling and therapy. But he also needs love and attention, and I would go to the end of the world to ensure he receives it. But I'm not sure what I can do.
Is adoption realistic in this scenario? Knowing that I would be severing all ties to the organization in doing so, it's still in my thoughts. And if so, how would I go about it? Leave of absence at school? I'm relying on student loans through the remainder of the school year, but fully intend to get a part time job next year. I also have graduate school in my future thoughts. The undergrad school offers housing to students with children.
Am I crazy? Have I lost boundaries? Do I need counseling myself? Or is this actually something I could realistically do?
Bump with some thoughts.